Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
92

Q: Sarah, why did you leave Australia?

My reckoning answer...as we await our reckoning referendum outcome
92

OK, a bit of an announcement. Going forward, I’ll be publishing our semi-regular Ask Me Anything (AMA) videos on my WILD podcast, as a bonus episode each week1. However, the video version will only be available here in the paid community space (from next week; today I’ll run gratis). I’m inviting podcast listeners to come join the party over here…because this is where 1. We have the follow up conversation with each other and 2. You can then ask me another “Anything” question to be answered in a future recording.

If you’ve just landed here for the first time, welcome! From next week, these videos and conversations will only be available to the paid community. Join the crew using this widget:

These AMAs and extra Wild pods are all a bit of an experiment. Those of you who joined last week’s Nate Hagens thread might have read in one of my comments that I’m in a tricky financial spot with my Wild podcast and I’m going to have to find some clever ways to keep it going without compromising content. I will have a longer conversation with you on this shortly. But the aim of posting extra Wild episodes is to see if it can drive a bit of extra revenue.

These eps/videos will be rough, unedited, invariably stumbly, and perhaps a bit over-sharey. But I feel this is where this community is at - we don’t want the polished TED-esque experience (not if it’s not the raw truth)2. Would you all be cool to give feedback on what you think? Your raw truth?

Leave a comment

(PS, in case you missed it)

I’m now also doing one-on-one sessions over Zoom with paid subscribers. These are designed for those of you wanting intimate and direct feedback or direction from me on quandaries in your life, a project you’re working on, writing techniques and opportunities etc. I have a few slots left before the end of the year and will open bookings for 2024 shortly.

Book sessions here


OK, so to kick it off I’m answering two questions in one

They both came through in the past two weeks and I think they reflect broader questions surfaced by the despairing Voice referendum debate debacle. I want to address them on the eve of the vote (the above was recorded and published Friday 13 October), before the result, and before the post-result commentary rolls in. And also, perhaps, by way of a perspective-giving salve for those of you at saturation point with the despair.

Thank you Amy and Kat for the beautiful questions. I’ve bolded some salient parts in what you ask that I attend to in the video (so everyone’s eye can go straight to the gist of what your questions are getting at).

Amy Ward:

Sarah! This is off topic but I still really wanted to ask - I struggle to live in Aus. I just feel I don’t fit in. I’m also single, no kids…. I am 41 and my friends and family group think it’s important to have a ‘base’ and ‘community’ and do not support any mid/long term move back OS. Am I crazy for wanting to live outside of Australia? Surely I can create community wherever I go - I’m not an introvert etc. I just feel like I am going against the grain, reckless etc. Did you get any of this push back going to France? I’m sorry to hijack the comments - I didn’t know how else to ask!

Kat Morrisby:

It was a sad day (for Australia) when you left. I get you. I grew up in Germany and left to Australia a decade ago. The contrast in how Europeans and Australians deal with things is stark, some things I love, some I despise. Seeing the climate wars and Voice politics play out in Australia are two of the latter. (I still cannot fathom the leaflets of the No campaign in my postbox. It makes me sad. It just would not be possible in Germany.) It has made me consider moving back. But... access to true wild places is one of those I would not want to live without anymore, and one I cherish on a daily basis living in Tasmania. You've been on my mind, Sarah, I've been wondering how you cope in Paris without the ocean at your doorstep, without your daily swims, without immersing yourself in salt, water and sand? Is hiking the mountains and running the trails giving you the same depth of connection to nature? (I love those too but for me there's nothing like the wide open ocean to tickle your senses, calm your spirit, boost and then burn off your adrenaline.)

I found the past few times I've left Australia that my sense of belonging was severed. I felt more homesick than I've ever been for Europe. I couldn't tell who was singing in the forests (birds), who I was touching and rubbing against (plants and trees); I lost my sense of direction; I didn't know the story of the land. All is to say, I'd be terrified to leave this country for all that I've found. But you've grown up here, so I'm curious what your experience is moving the opposite way. How is your connection to Country playing out over there? Have you found a sense of place and home in France? Do you feel connected to the world rather than a small region? Do you get homesick?

To complement this discussion, you might also like to read this post that speaks to Australian identity:

And listen to this Wild episode:

OK, over to you guys…shall we discuss?

Leave a comment

Sarah xx

1

Or each fortnight. I’m going to have to see how all this goes and whether you like the format.

2

I will, however, try to provide better video quality - my laptop suffered water damage and I suspect the camera lens is stuffed. This doesn’t explain the terrible angle I chose.

92 Comments
This is Precious
This is Precious
Authors
Sarah Wilson